State Board of Education

The State Board of Education elections are critically important as 7 of the 11 elected seats are up for election and the board leadership hangs in the balance. Decoding Dyslexia OH supports public education but does not endorse any political candidate.   We wanted to raise awareness about this important election so that voters can make educated choices when casting their ballots on November 4, 2014.  It is important to note that 2 currently elected board members are not seeking re-election:  Debe Terhar of District 4 and Debbie Cain of District 8 (term-limited).

Why is voting for a State Board of Education member important?  The State Board of Education interprets and implements educational related legislation passed by the Ohio General Assembly.  State Board of Education candidates do not run based on party affiliation, so it is important to know their stance on issues that are important to you prior to going to the polls.

State Board Statement on Curriculum Recommendations:

Pursuant to ORC 3301.079(B)(3) and 3313.60, it is the responsibility of Ohio’s local boards of education to vet and approve curriculum and educational materials for use in the public schools within their district.

The use of any materials posted or linked to on the Ohio Department of Education website, including materials within the Common Core State Standards or Appendices or any state model curricula or other educational resource material, is entirely up to the discretion of each local board of education.

Please click on the the candidate’s name to be taken to their campaign website or facebook page.  If the candidate is an incumbent, clicking on incumbent will take you to their biography posted on the Ohio Department of Education website.  There are a few candidates that no campaign website could be found.  If there is one, please email Info@DecodingDyslexiaOH.org so the link can be added.

ohio_map_new_districts-2012Elected Members

District 2: (link to debate here)

District 3:

District 4:

District 5:

District 7:

District 8:

District 10:

 The following elected members will continue to serve their terms, which end on December 31, 2016:


At-Large Members

The terms of the following appointed members end on December 31, 2014. These members can be re-appointed by the governor.

The terms of the following appointed members end on December 31, 2016:


 Links to learn more: